8th Grade Portraits


I’ve been trying to clean out the basement and put stuff in a spare room upstairs so they don’t get ruined. I found a bunch of old drawings and paintings in a moldy portfolio last night.

I spent the 7th and 8th grades at MS Hetherington Public School in Windsor. Mr Cameron was my 8th grade teacher. I don’t think he was very religious, but his brother ran Cameron’s Christian Bookstore, which was the big Christian bookshop in the city. I was really into drawing portraits around that time so towards the end of the year our class made a book. Everyone filled out a profile which would go one one side the book, and I drew portraits of all 30 people in the class for the other side of the book. I wonder if Mr Cameron still has the collection with the original drawings. These photocopies are the only ones I have left.

Craig Cota got in a fight with Derek Pizzala, and a few other guys after school that year. I don’t remember what it was about, I think the other guys were just joking around because it was 4 against 1 and they were doing a bunch of wrestling moves on him and when they stopped he didn’t have a black eye or bloody nose or anything like that. He made a big deal about it though and cried so I felt bad for him and walked him home after.

Ricky Boose was the first kid I met when I started going to Hetherington in 7th grade. He had a big birthday party at his house that year and his parents rented us Porky’s I, II and III. I felt sort of bad after for watching them because I knew God wouldn’t like it.

Rendia De la Pontiere once told me I was “incorrigible” which is the only time in my life I’ve heard someone say that word out loud, and she had red hair. It makes me think of Anne of Green Gables.

Ryan McKenzie was always the fastest runner at track meets, in grade school and in highschool. He’s married now and I think he was trying to get into the Olympics for track and field, but I’m not sure if he ever made it.

Byron Pappas was one of the 2 other new kids at Hetherington when I started there. He had just moved from South Africa. I think his parents were doctors or something. By grade 11 he didn’t have his accent anymore.

This is a self portrait I drew around the same time. There’s no date on it, but that’s how my hair looked in the 7th grade, and it’s stapled to a black background. The art teacher, Mr Self had a bulletin board outside his classroom that he would showcase a different students’ artwork on for a month at a time. Everything that went up there was always mounted on a black background. I had my stuff on his bulletin board 3 or 4 times in 2 years. I might’ve been half-retarded in other classes, but I was always an art star at school, unofficially competing against 1 or 2 other kids for best drawer until the middle of highschool. Then I got busy with other things.

These are some of the last portraits I did. Around grade 11. I randomly picked some people from the yearbook.

P.S. I was Valedictorian of my 8th grade class. When else am I going to get a chance to say that?

One Response to “8th Grade Portraits”

  1. Covenant « timmccready.tv Says:

    [...] different scenarios of dying or killing myself. Things got significantly better once I’d changed schools at the beginning of 7th grade and I was able to create a new persona for myself, but it’s not easy to forget those feelings [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 904 other followers

