Archive for October 11th, 2007

Wintage Records and Tapes

October 11, 2007

Last night I went to see my friend Kevin’s band Disguises play. I really liked them. They do noise stuff, and it’s the first time I’d seen them. He told me earlier that day that some people might think that their music is just improvised, but their music it totally written. The set was pretty insense. They make me want to get stoned and sit in front of the Dreamachine all night. I couldn’t help but think how great it would be if they had lighting guy. It made me want to be a lighting guy, but I don’t think I have time for another obsession.

I spent all the money I had on a bunch of stuff they were selling like this tape by Bonzai Forrest that is made out of plant potting stuff, mack-tack, velcro, brown paint, dust and synthetic plants.

This is a Disguises 3″ cd. All these things are hand painted and numbered. It’s kind of crazy because I got all this shit for $25. It makes me want to buy one of everything they’ve put out.

I bought the yellow Disguises cd about a year ago, but I got the Metis Yeti tape in the middle and the Diabel movie last night for $5 each.

4 Covers

October 11, 2007


Advance copies of the October issue arrived at our office today. There are 4 different covers designed (from top left clockwise) by Milano Chow, johnnyryan, David Cho and Jim Crewson.

I have nothing to do with the selection process or editorial in general, but it’s my job to talk to our printing plant and other people to make sure things like this happen for the US and Canadian editions. It’s stressful sometimes but it’s pretty fun and I like it.

These should be on the street this weekend.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 922 other followers