Archive for October 29th, 2007

Early 80’s Cartoon Themes + Turmoil In The Toybox

October 29, 2007

I watched these old 80’s cartoon themes last night and explosions were going off in my head. I haven’t seen these for years, but when I was a little kid I was obsessed with cartoons, especially Saturday morning cartoons.

The theme songs are almost in a genre of their own. They’re like surreal music videos.

It was only kindergarden and grade 1 that I was home on Saturday mornings, since I was out recycling papers by grade 2, but the memories I have of being so obsessed with the characters and storylines are still really vivid to me. Two of my favorite were HeMan and Thundercats, which I wasn’t allowed to watch because He-Man got his powers from GreySkull instead of God, and Thundercats were people mixed with animals which reminded my dad of pagan gods so they were off limits too.

I remember this book Turmoil in the Toybox being in our church library. It’s about the world being terrible and evil instruments of wickedness meant to indoctrinate your children into worshipping Satan. You can buy it on Amazon.com starting at 1cent.

I’d never heard of this other book, Fourteen Things Witches Hope Parents Never Find Out until today, but it’s along the same lines and is pretty amazing. It just goes to show you, no matter how crazy and half-assed the idea you’re promoting is, there will always be someone out there who will buy what you’re selling.

Gino Marcus Community Center Halloween Hardcore 2002

October 29, 2007

In the spirit of all these halloween posts of I’ve doing, I scanned these pictures I took from Halloween 2002 in Windsor.

Songs From A Room were called From the Room back then. Brayden looked like Dracula.


This guy had an amazing costume. If I remember correctly, he didn’t like me very much because I took a set of nude pictures of the girl on the right (which happened 6 months later, not at the Halloween show). From what I gathered they “hung out” a lot and she wanted to be his girlfriend but he wanted to keep seeing other girls. She probably just wanted to make him jealous, because she showed him the pictures after and then he hated me, but I was the innocent 3rd party! As if he would’ve done any different than I did.


I have a lot of old black and white pictures of Brayden in a speedo. He was really into that speedo for a year or so.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 931 other followers