Nuit Blanche


My dad came up from Windsor for the weekend to help me do house fix-ups so I can start spending more time in front of the computer again. Pictures of that tomorrow.

I went to contest my SECOND $180 bicycle ticket on Friday. $180 for biking through a yellow light where there’s not even an intersection? Fuck that I’m pleading not guilty. I feel raped.

Jeremy Jansen and I went to pick up our new zine Just The Tip after I dealt with the ticket. It was rainy, and traffic was hell, but the zines look rad! Check out his pics and more info about the zine at his site stitchphoto.com. We first met up and committed to doing the project on Sept 5th last 2008 (I only remember the date because of the big party VICE threw that day). Hopefully issue 2 won’t take as long.

It feels good to have it wrapped up, no further production needed! I still have to bind half the Dreamachzines I had printed back in June. My heart is already other places, I wish the binding could just be done!

Borel’s book is out! She had a reading/release party at the Drake Underground on Thursday evening, and a little dinner boozer at her agent Sam’s place on Saturday evening. Adrienne is thanked in the back of the book, and it’s a short list! The food was unusually good, and we all got wasted on wine, and smiled and laughed. You can buy her book at TYPE Books on Queen West if you live in Toronto, Amazon, and I think Chapters and Barnes & Nobles etc.. are all carrying it. It was recently licensed in Germany, but I have no idea when that’s coming out.

I had a gig at 6:30 on Sunday taking down a Nuit Blanche installation. All I knew was it was a 4-hour call and it was at the Church of the Holy Trinity west of the Eaton Center and to bring a hard hat and wear steel toes. It turned out to be 6 dreamachines with cushions around them, a low frequency hum as the soundtrack, and a giant banner with a William S Burroughs quote, “Destroy The Word”, which immediately made me think of the New Testament verse, John 1:1 – In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.

The job took less than an hour.

Michelle Williams is my new 2-days-a-week work buddy. She comes over with her laptop and we surf the internet, email people, strategize ways to get things done, organize shit, and make money! Her work email address is michelle@159manning.com and her blog is called michelleremembers.com. (It’s a reference to the book “Michelle Remembers”. shhhh)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 848 other followers

