Family Day 2013


Happy Family Day! I present to you the 159 Manning 2013 Family; Dwayne Kennedy, Nico Elliot-Armstrong and me. I hope I’m not violating Dwayne or Nico’s privacy by posting their names on here. After having 40-ish room-mates in the past 8 years of living in this house, I get very anxious about having new people move in here, but I feel very comfortable with both Dwayne and Nico. They’re both kind, hard-working/motivated people, and we all have our own separate lives so I think we’ve got a good thing going on at the moment.

Check out this tombstone I made for myself! After I die of natural causes at 3am on my 100th Birthday, I’d like my tombstone inscribed with a tribute to the way I aspire to live my life: Gave A Fuck, Tried Hard, Wasn’t A Complete Asshole. I would like my full name “Timothy Alexander McCready” on my actual tombstone, but the generator wouldn’t allow me to have that many characters on the top line. I dare anyone to accuse me of not giving a fuck, or that I don’t try, or that I’m a complete asshole. I got no respect for this “slacker” bullshit lifestyle identity that was marketed to my generation in the 90′s. Slackers are pathetic and can eat shit and die of starvation. I mean it. I may be a creative/artist/musician-type but I would like to think that I take both a blue collar and academic approach to the various crafts and projects I pursue. I’m not just sitting on my ass dreaming of everything being handed to me. Never have, never will.

I discovered a site called The Tweet Hereafter last night. The tagline is “Each of us will utter a final word. Some of them will be on twitter”. As you might guess, it’s a chronological collection of final tweets before death. Right at the top of the list was Country singer Mindy McCready, who killed herself less than 24-hours earlier in the dark morning hours of Sunday February 17th. She and I are not related, and I don’t think I’ve ever heard even one of her songs, but she was one of the only “famous” people out-there with the last name McCready AND her dad’s name is Tim McCready. Goes to show that money, fame and beauty isn’t necessarily enough to make one happy and fulfilled. Sad face.

In other celebrity mental health news, Patrick Pentland wrote an amazing article titled Let’s Talk… About My Anxiety Issues for the the Loop.ca last Tuesday for Mental Health Awareness Day. I thought it was a really ballsy, honest and beautiful thing for him to write about, and I’ve got BIG RESPECT for that. Rather than have me summarize it, you should read it. So much of the entertainment industry is complete bullshit by it’s very nature, and that’s fine, but I admire him for writing about something so important and personal since it’s such a sharp contrast to so much other entertainment-related writing. PS, I sewed that backdrop behind him in the picture below! Andrew Scott painted it.

Reminds me of my theme-song a wrote and recorded a few months back…

Steve Rock asked me to model a couple of t-shirt designs yesterday, and in return gave me a couple of t-shirts including this Wu-Tang floral-print bootleg. From what I understand he’s folding the Herotic Apparel brand name, and making his t-shirt business part of his “Good Kids” brand. I wore the shirt at Parts & Labour last night and got a lot of compliments on it!

I ordered this Richard Pryor/Slayer shirt from Shirt and Destroy last week. I’m such a sucker for t-shirts, especially interesting/funny bootlegs that relate to my various specific interests. Someday soon I’ll start collecting suits, but for now I still love collecting t-shirts.


Speaking of comedy and specific interests, I bought a ticket to see Bruce McCulloch live on Monday March 11th! Gawwwwwd, Bruce is 100% my favorite comedic sketch actor of all-time, and one of the only famous people from my youth I still haven’t met that I’d get excited about meeting. By “meeting” I mean “getting drunk and partying with”. Something about Bruce’s approach to comedy; the characters he’s played, the facial expressions, the voices, etc…really resonates with me.


I suppose I came very close to meeting him when I went to the Kids In The Hall Death Comes To Town launch party at the Rivoli on January 11th 2010. I was RIGHT THERE when they did their intro. I am super fucking excited about seeing Bruce do a full solo set on March 11th! Watch this video I shot, it’s actually pretty awesome because I was RIGHT THERE IN FRONT OF THEM.

Quest For Fire played their last show on Friday night at the Legendary Horseshoe Tavern. It was great! QFF were a band that I began purposefully (though unofficially) documenting when they first started playing shows, which coincided with when I started to put a major effort into this blog. Personally it felt like a funeral-celebration for a certain era of my life that involved many other friends, bands, and I don’t know what else. After the show I was quite drunk (though in a good mood) and as the Horseshoe started clearing I sat on a bench at the side and had a few minutes to myself. I thought; What if I never came to this city? How would things be different in Toronto if I’d never put all the effort I have into promoting, praising, documenting, insulting and pontificating about the various friends, bands, acquaintances, activities and whatever else I’ve featured on this blog over the 8 years I’ve been living in Toronto? It’s not like anyone ever asked me to do the stuff I did in the first place. If you’ve known (of) me longer than 5 years, and if you’ve read this far into this post, I’ll leave it to you to decide if it would have been better or worse if I’d never come to Toronto. If I’d never given a fuck. Have I had any effect, good or bad, on anyone at all, or has this just been a nearly decade long egotistical stroke session?

Oh well, I know the guys in QFF appreciated it because at various times they’ve told me so. I’m proud of what I’ve accomplished in this city in the 8 years I’ve been here, particularly because I moved here with almost nothing. I’m also sorry to anyone I’ve unnecessarily hurt or offended with this blog or in action over the years. I’m sorry if at times I’ve appeared to be a selfish insensitive prick, but I want you to know I’ve always tried, and I’ve always given a fuck. This whole time I’ve been trying to find myself, express myself, to actualize and BE my true self. Nobody’s perfect, and we all make mistakes along the way. I mean all that, but at the same time if I’ve specifically told you to fuck off and get-out-of-my-life, then you probably deserve it so FUCK OFF. If you want me to forgive you, you’ll have to apologize and acknowledge why I’m so pissed off at you, and tell me how you’re going to make it up to me. Don’t worry, I’m not holding my breath waiting to hear from anyone. I may be stubborn and overly-sensitive sometimes (a byproduct of anxiety/PTSD?), but I’m not stupid. Either way, whatever love hate or indifference anyone may feel towards me, I gotta post this video one last time.

Happy Family Day!

6 Responses to “Family Day 2013”

  1. Tim McCready Says:

    Looks like one of us will have to step up and fill that famous person gap..

  2. Tim McCready Says:

    This must happen.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 923 other followers

