POP Montreal Explosion!!!!


Holy shit was POP Montreal fun! Adrienne and I missed the first 2 days of the festival because my art show was on Wednesday, and the Fred Perry Jay Reatard party was on Thursday night. Adrienne surprised me with a flight on Porter Airlines on Friday morning on our way to the airport. Up until we were 3 blocks away from my house I though we were renting a car.

She also treated me as an early 30th birthday gift to us staying at the Gault Hotel in old Montreal. It’s at least as nice as the OPUS, where I stayed last time I was in town right before Christmas last year.

The first show we caught was a spoken word performance by Lydia Lunch who was fucking amazing. To be honest I wasn’t expecting her to blow me away like she did. During the question and answer period at the end she just went off on a bunch of tangents and I felt like she was reading my mind.

We ate dinner at Casa Del Popolo, and then went to the Hand Drawn Dracula showcase to see Contrived.

We cut out after Contrived to go down the street to see Burt Bacharach. He performed in a church which was stunning, and made me sort of understand how some people could be into Catholicism. I’m not going to pretend I love listening to Burt Bacharach all the time but the man’s a legend. I do like the album he recorded with Elvis Costello in the late 90’s called “Painted From Memory” though.
I went back to the Hand Drawn Dracula showcase after, saw Off The International Radar and Shogu Takumoru.

Nadine and I walked over to Bar Ste Laurent after to see the Evaporators but walked in just as they were ending! 😦

I’m getting tired of typing.


On Saturday night we went to an insanely packed house party and the Golden Hands Before God played. I’ve seen them 5 or 6 times over the past 2 years and it was by far the best show I’ve ever seen them play. I’m very happy for them that they are so fucking awesome now. Everyone there was rocking out and losing their mind.



We came back to our hotel at 5am on Sunday morning, and had to check out at noon. At least the bed was really comfortable so the 6 hours of sleep I got felt like 10.


We bummed around the city for the rest of the day and went to the airport around 8pm.

Our plane landed in Toronto around 10:30 on Sunday night. I love POP Montreal! I love Porter Airlines! I love Adrienne!

Leave a Reply

