The Saints Go Marching In


I started reading Wired: The Short Life and Fast Times of John Belushi by Bob Woodward a year or 2 ago. I got about 3/4 through the book before I got sidetracked. The part I read follows his life growing up in Wheaton IL, through theatre camps, school, Second City, Saturday Night Live, Animal House, Blues Brothers, and the other movie projects he was working on after becoming a big star. He was always a party animal.

I started reading it again the other day, and by this point in the book he’s just a total mess, consuming whatever drugs he could get his hand on 24-hours-a-day, being unproductive, and being an asshole to just about everyone in his life. He was sort of working on a new movie called The Noble Rot but it never got made.

On his 33rd birthday, January 24th 1982, he was staying at the Chateau Marmont in LA and a female friend of his bought him a giant bloody Jesus on a cross like these ones I took pictures of in Acapulco in 2004. She was in her late 30’s but 33 had been a hard year for her, the story goes that Jesus was crucified when he was 33 (his first miracle, the water into wine one was when he was 30), and everyone knew Belushi was losing his marbles so she attached a note that said “Beware of 33”. He died 2 months later.

I still have 70 pages to finish, but I that’s my book report from what I read the other day. I would like one of those giant bloody Jesus’ on a cross someday for a decoration in my house, but it’s worth noting that I’d also like to live far past 33 years old.

It may also be worth noting that some people really close to John like his wife Judy, his brother Jim and Dan Akroyd had participated in being interviewed for the book and were super pissed after it came out. They said it didn’t represent the guy they knew. Judy wrote a book of her own about John that was published in 2005.

Leave a Reply

