A Thief In the Night!


I’m sooo excited! I just found A Thief In the Night on youtube, broken up into 15 clips.

I remember seeing this in church when I was 6 or 7 years old. It first came out in 1972, and is a great Exploitation movie about the Rapture, if your parents aren’t telling you that it’s based on facts and that your soul is damned to hell if you don’t believe it and ask Jesus to be your personal Lord and Saviour.

There’s 3 other movies in the series I can’t wait to check them out again.

Sorry to ruin the plot, but the best is how the pastor is left behind after the rapture because he was too soft in his preaching and said the Bible was symbolic and it’s enough to just be a good person. Little did he know there’s only ONE WAY to heaven.

As a document, I think it accurately captures a moment in late 60’s/early 70’s Protestant Evangelical Christianity. Even though I was born in 1978 and wasn’t alive then, I’m pretty sure I know what I’m talking about.

Leave a Reply

