Ride the Wave


Today is the 5 year anniversary of me being interviewed for VICE. I was hired later that night at a party at the Chelsea Room that Pablo Mozo was DJing. Gee whiz! Time flies.

I had an hour-long interview at Much Music yesterday that I think went really well, but I won’t find out if I’m hired until the new year. It’s an 8-month contract for creating and managing blog content for MuchMusic.com which sounds like my kind of thing to do.

I met up with Jesse Harris, Michelle Williams, Jon Schouten and Patrick McGuire at an Olympics promotion sponsored by Petro Canada at Yonge and Dundas Square this morning, hosted by Olympic figure skater Kurt Browning.

They even had my name (mis-spelled) on a sign to show me where to register!

There were 500 people there to do “the wave” in the bleachers for some Wave-Across-Canada-to-support-the-Olympics sort of thing. I think there were simultaneous events across the country.

I got a free Petro Canada hat! Jon says I look like I work at a gas station now.

Last night Darryl Mahoney and I re-watched Crumb. The first time I saw it was at Shawn Duguay’s house in Windsor in 1996, and some of what Robert Crumb said about his creative process has always stuck with me, so I decided to post it on youtube today.

Darryl’s got an all-access backstage pass to see Cannibal Corpse tonight. Metal Blade put out a 3-disc dvd documentary about them last year called Centuries of Torment that is AMAZING. I’ve shown it to 8 different people, none of whom are metal fans, and they all agreed it’s a great, watchable documentary. It’s funny, Cannibal Corpse don’t seem “crazy” at all. Just guys who are life-long friends with families, who are really into heavy metal and horror movies.

2 Responses to “Ride the Wave”

  1. adrienne Says:

    “You just have to have the courage to take that chance. What’s going to come out?”

  2. michelle Says:

    I look like the Michelin man.

Leave a Reply

