School Day Treasures 1983 – 1984


The first place I ever started collecting things was in this School Day Treasures book. This started it all! I can remember having it when I was 4 or 5 years old. It’s got a total of 16 folders, 1 each year for Pre-Kindergarden, Kindergarden, Grade’s 1 through 13, and the last folder for University.

There are only 2 things in the Pre-Kindergarden folder; this drawing of a lion I did in church. It says it’s from age 3.


I’ve also got this letter from May 20th 1983, exactly 5 months before my 5th birthday from my Grandma McCready congratulating me on accepting Jesus Christ as my personal lord and savior and telling me to focus on him and everything would be alright.


No cheque attached.

Here’s my kindergarden picture, September 1983. I was wearing an outfit my mom had made for me. It’s a cute outfit and at that time it was age appropriate. I was a happy little boy!



I took my first swimming lessons that year, and our family went to Disney World in Florida a couple of weeks before Christmas.

My parents used to tell me that I drove my kindergarden teacher Mrs Plaut nuts because I didn’t know how to behave myself and that she’d wanted to hold me back another year but my parents stood up for me and made her put me into grade 1. That’s not at all the impression I get from reading my report card from that year. I wonder why they’d say something like that to me? The only things I really remember about Mrs Plaut was that I really liked her and her husband was a Rabbi.

3 Responses to “School Day Treasures 1983 – 1984”

  1. Katie Says:

    The no cheque attached killed me.

  2. Lia Says:

    My husband and I have the exact same book from our childhoods and I am looking to find copies of the book for my two kids….!
    Do you have any idea where I could find one?
    Thanks so very much,
    Lia

  3. torbs Says:

    Laughing my ass off, as I scratch my balls at 7am. Wow, so Jesus found his way into your little 3 year old heart like a stake!

Leave a Reply

