The Sphinxs


I went to see my ex-Bang-Bangs bandmates, now renamed “The Sphinxs”, at the Shop Under Parts and Labour on Tuesday night. They played several songs that the Bang Bangs used to play and 2 new songs. The place was rammed and lots of people were dancing.

At the end of their set some guy I’d never seen before ran up on Chris Cheeseman and started throwing punches. I was right next to them so I immediately jumped on the guy, put him in a chokehold and took him down.

My little Canon Digital Elph was strapped to my wrist and got wrecked when I was punching the guy in the side of the head with my free arm, so that kind of sucks but whatever it was fun. Ivy Lovell got the perfect picture of the moment!

Here’s a video/song Cheeseman and I made last year for our band/recording project “The Third Mind”

Last night was the 2nd installment of White Whale Wednesdays at the Dakota. Owen Pallet of Final Fantasy played right before Mohawk Lodge. The place cleared as soon as he was done playing, which was good since that meant we had a lot more room to move around while we played. Really, who wants to play to a packed club in this hot sticky weather? I didn’t take any pictures last night, so here’s a picture of Eamon and I from Switzerland last month.

I’m going to Maryanna Hardy’s art opening for her new drawings tonight.

I’m also going to Jeremy Jansen’s new photo collaboration show In The Light Of Night II in Trinity Bellwoods Park.

I shot this video at the first installment of In the Light Of Night on November 28th 2008, and recorded the song that went with it the next day on my iPhone 4-track.

3 Responses to “The Sphinxs”

  1. cw Says:

    dude!

  2. Asia Minor « Alexander McCready Says:

    […] believe their first show as the Sphinxs was in July, the one where I beat the shit out of the guy who attacked Cheeseman. Being a drug […]

  3. Parts & Labouring On Labour Day « Timothy Alexander McCready Says:

    […] and this is your chance to get close to them (but don’t get TOO close, or I’ll have to put you in a chokehold). I left the office around 4pm and went over to Parts & Labour to build a stage in the Shop. […]

Leave a Reply

