Nevermind My Birthday…it’s the 159 Manning BBQ!


A question I’ve been finding people asking me a lot the past couple of months is “Tim, what exactly do you do for a living?” The bread-and-butter of my income is made from doing sound for every show at Parts & Labour, and delivering all 18,000 copies of VICE Magazine around Toronto once a month. That’s not enough to cover my rent, utility bills, phone bill, OSAP payment, camera payment, and trying to repay my debts (I haven’t had a savings account since 1999), but it’s a solid base. From there I may do some photo gigs, stage crew work, record bands, or whatever else comes up that people will pay me money for. For example, this past month I shot a video for Sloan, and then sewed and painted the backdrop for their current tour.

I spend a fair amount of time freaking out and being frustrated about the whole process of collaborating and making things “happen”, but overall I consider myself very fortunate to be able to spend the bulk of my time doing projects that I’m passionate about, working with and/or promoting people I find interesting for some reason or another. Most of my projects tend to cost me money, rather than make me money; doing this blog, working on projects at 159 Manning like painting the interior, refinishing the floors at my own expense, building/improving the recording studio in the basement, starting new musical projects, taking portraits, making stained glass windows, drawing, writing etc… Some months I make some extra money which I use to start new projects and/or lower the debt on my visa, and some months I come up short and have to take cash advances on my visa just to cover bills. But at this point in my life, I don’t feel I have any choice but to take another dexadrine (which I take under medical supervision) and keep going, to keep being creative and expressing what I see. I don’t have a back-up plan to turn to. There’s nowhere for me to go but onward and forward, and to win.

I’m an agnostic, I’m not close with my family, and tomorrow marks 2 years of not-having-a-fulltime-job. Wahhhh for me. Whatever. The point of me bringing this up is I don’t celebrate Christmas or Chanukah. I don’t buy birthday gifts and nobody buys birthday gifts for me. I don’t care about my birthday. My NYE party is my winter holiday celebration, and I consider the BBQ to be like my spiritual birthday (my actual birthday is October 19th). These 2 parties/celebrations are my personal religious holidays.

I spend 4 to 5 months organizing each of these parties, and my aim is always to top the last party, making it more and more elaborate, diverse and large scale than the previous time. I put the info out there, and then hope that whoever wants to come will come. I make a point of trying not to individually pressure people in person into coming to my BBQ or my NYE parties, because I try and reserve being an obnoxious person for this-here blog, and it’s not like I have that much time to socialize at these events anyways. I spend the whole time running around trying to deal with whatever logistical problems, and that’s fine with me because when people spend the next 2 months talking about how it was the best party ever, then I’m happy and feel like I’ve done what I set out to do. If you and I go way back, and I didn’t hit you up with an individual invite, that’s why.

This past NYE, there were hundreds of people in front of the house from 11:30 to 4:30 when 8 bike-cops showed up and cleared the street (but didn’t shut the party down). I can get away with it on NYE, but on a Friday afternoon in the summer? No way. That’s why I’m doing ADVANCE TICKETS ONLY. It guarantees admission. Hopefully a quick/smooth admission process so there won’t be a crowd/line-up in front of my house.

But Tim, $30 fucking dollars for a ticket? Ummm, yeahh. Have you been to any of my parties before? Do you think I’m getting rich from this? Fuck you, I see what everyone spends their money on. I’m not using this party to sell ads or records or clothes or anything else, not that I have a problem with anyone selling those things, I’m just saying that this party, and the overall experience I’m curating is the final product. I know what I’m putting into this, what everyone who comes will get out of this, and this is a bargain! I’ve got a ton of expenses, staff, and performers to pay to make this party happen. I’m so confident that this party is going to be the biggest, best, and most well-organized one at 159 yet; Right here, right now, I stake my entire name and reputation on this party, you have my word on that. And all y’all hipsters who want to hate because I’m not charging $10 or less; you can eat hot shit straight from my asshole! DON’T COME because you’re boring, weak, predictable and you don’t deserve a party this good.

This party is open to the “public”, just buy a ticket. There are 275 general admission tickets available, and when it’s sold out, it’s sold out. If it doesn’t sell out, whatever, more food and beer for the rest of us. Tickets will not be available at the door. No walk ups. Ins and outs are fine though. Come early, go somewhere else, come back for more later.

PS: hipsters love it when you tell them to fuck off since they’re all self-hating masochists who love to be abused.

PPS: I just received a preview of Allison and Lauren’s book cover, which is coming out later this month! I took the cover photo and 2 of the photos on the back cover!! Unfortunately, the book will not be available at the BBQ, but they will be in attendance displaying their artwork in the gallery upstairs.

4 Responses to “Nevermind My Birthday…it’s the 159 Manning BBQ!”

  1. James Crispy Says:

    Why are the hipsters trying to bring theis party down?

  2. T.D Says:

    tl;dr

    crazy guy, just get a real job

  3. B Says:

    Geez man, that is wild. I used to live at 159 Manning around 1995/1996. I can’t believe what the place looks like now. Awesome.

Leave a Reply

