Singing Bastards of Young @ 159 Manning


This is me singing the Replacements’ classic Bastards Of Young, from their 1985 album Tim.

Odd coincidence, the album was released on October 19th, my 7th birthday.

God, what a mess, on the ladder of success
Where you take one step and miss the whole first rung
Dreams unfulfilled, graduate unskilled
It beats pickin’ cotton and waitin’ to be forgotten

We are the sons of no one, bastards of young
We are the sons of no one, bastards of young
The daughters and the sons

Clean your baby womb, trash that baby boom
Elvis in the ground, waitin’ on a beer tonight
Income tax deduction, what a hell of a function
It beats pickin’ cotton and waitin’ to be forgotten

We are the sons of no one, bastards of young
We are the sons of no one, bastards of young
The daughters and the sons

Unwillingness to claim us, got no warrant (wars?) to name us

The ones who love us best are the ones we’ll lay to rest
And visit their graves on holidays at best
The ones who love us least are the ones we’ll die to please
If it’s any consolation, I don’t begin to understand them…

2 Responses to “Singing Bastards of Young @ 159 Manning”

  1. P Says:

    PW would be proud! The Replacements remind of my guy so they’re one of my favorites. I enjoyed your playing. Thanks for a fun afternoon. Give Mako a scratch for me.

  2. Ray McCready Says:

    I have enjoyed listening to the last 3 , I have told your Mom she needs to listen to them, Your playing is great. I smile within as I reminice about the torchure you endured at the piano on Frank Av.
    Proud to be your Dad.

Leave a Reply

