Open Letter From The Sound Man


Ohh mannn, I got that Richard Pryor/Slayer t-shirt in the mail yesterday and it looks siiiick! It’s everything I hoped it would be.

Q: When will I have enough t-shirts?
A: NEVERRRRR.

Q: Should I open a t-shirt store, or sell my old t-shirts online?
A: NOOOOO. That would take all the fun out of it for me! Part of the fun for me is having an archive.

Wavelength’s 13th Anniversary Extravaganza happened last weekend, and the first night was at Parts & Labour. I would write more, but Joe Strutt’s got it covered. I like Joe Strutt. Augmented by his tireless commitment to live “bootleg” recording, his blog Mechanical Forest Sound is arguably the best personal music blog in Toronto right now, MAYBE best personal music blog in Canada, and I’ve always found his reviews to be well-informed, accurate and relatively unbiased. I didn’t get any pictures of Joe that night so this is a picture of Adham and Doc Pickles.

In contrast, everything I write is biased in that it’s all about meeeee, even when I’m not writing about me. Whether you consider that a strength or a weakness of mine, is all about YOU. There’s no need to feel threatened by me being so into documenting my own thoughts, feelings, surroundings and past experiences on a blog that’s read by only a relatively small number of people. It isn’t meant to diminish or infringe upon who you are, or where you’ve come from or what you’re doing blah, blah, blah, blah… I’m still sorting myself out so, so Do What Thou Wilt, okay? I’m ok, you’re ok. …as long as you’re ok with yourself. THAT’s what’s really important. Be like these guys; they’re smiling. Shoulders relaxed.

I would’ve taken more pictures that night, but I didn’t want to compete with a whole wall of SLR’s! I love that there were so many people all committed to participating in the experience. That’s what made it such an experience.

From Mechanical Forest Sound:

The Venue: Parkdale’s Parts + Labour is about the furthest afield that many regular show-goers can be cajoled to get out to — and some avoid it for reasons beyond its location at the western fringes of coolness. The low-ceilinged basement space can set off feelings of claustrophobia, especially when it gets packed. It also has a rep for less-than-high-fidelity sound, and indeed, it’s at its best when playing host to rough-and-ready DIY’ers with a naturally scrappy sort of sound. Last fall’s renovations to the room (flipping the bar to the opposite long wall) have actually done a lot to improve the flow of the space, but you’ll never mistake being there with the feeling of, say, wandering through an open meadow. But sometimes you want to experience the opposite of wandering through an open meadow.

My homie Richard Trapunski also mentioned the venue’s “thin sound” in a very positive review of a recent show there he wrote for NOW Magazine, and though he wasn’t writing it as a diss, I think it’s worth mentioning that we’ve recently invested in a couple more mics for the drum-kit (an AKG D112 for the kick, and a Shure SM58 for the snare) and I’ve requested that we add a couple of overhead condenser mics for the drums and a couple of mics for guitar amps. We can’t do anything about the clausterphobia, and nobody is under the illusion that it’s ever going to sound like the Music Gallery down there, but we’re working on making what reasonable improvements such as the 5″ stage riser we installed last year, and the 2-channel compressor to boost vocals and second stage monitor which were purchased around the time the bar was moved to the other side of the room, and the recent installation of 2 LED Color Bars on the front of the stage to increase visibility. I think we’ve made a 200% improvement from where the live-sound capabilities of the venue were at a year-and-a-half ago. The Shop is what it is, but I feel that Mark Pesci keeps his booking standards pretty high/specific so we get a lot of great bands in there, and personally I love the place. It’s like a second home to me.

In my typical Tim McCready maverick style, I did not consult anyone else before writing this post so I can’t officially speak for or represent anyone else but myself, but I think it’s safe to say WE CARE.

You wanna know how much I care? Check out this 1-of-a-kind “Tim McCready Discography Sept ’92 to Feb ’98” cassette-tape boxed set I made in 1998. It now sits on top of one of my trinket shelves in my office.

This is the backside. That’s me 3rd from left, with the shaved head wearing 14-hole Doc Martins. I may not have much to show for it, but I been plugging away, eatin’ shit like a slug in this indie music/media/whatever game a long fuckin’ time, and have no intention of giving up ever, so don’t try to stop me. Work with me, not against me, okay? Please, help me.

This video was shot in my bedroom in my parents basement in Windsor on a Saturday afternoon, sometime during the Spring of 1996. Yes, that’s me in the middle with a shaved head and no shirt on. No, we weren’t that great of a band, but in typical Tim McCready style, I did the best I could to make the most of what I had available to me.

Leave a Reply

