Fashion Week + CMW + FULW v5 = Part 1


I improvised and recorded this Terry Riley/Steve Reich influenced tune a couple of days ago:

I still dream of putting together a performance of Steve Reich’s Music For 18 Musicians in my backyard someday, but whether or not that happens at the very least I should put together another performance or 2 of Terry Riley’s “In C”.

Last week, starting Monday March 18th, was a busy one! My afternoons on M,T,T and F were well spent working with THE COLLECTIONS on all 7 runway shows they were involved with for Toronto Fashion Week. My job was compiling pre-show video reels with content and logos they supplied with me, and I was there as an on-site liaison between COLLECTIONS staff and TFW tech staff.

My homies.

Once the shows were ready to start I didn’t have any work to do, so I brought my 5D Mark II and shot some photos. I don’t know enough about fashion to actually review or comment much on the shows I saw, but I did have a friend (who knows what the fuck he’s talking about) explain to me that if press is going to review or report on a show, they should show all pieces in the runway collection, in consecutive order, not show one outfit and review the show. There’s a reason why it’s called a “collection”. That makes sense to me, so I’ll accept that!

I cropped a few and re-sized all of the next 28 photos from the Chloe Comme Parris show, but other than that, no Photoshop. I’ve got 25 different outfits there total, all head-to-toe shots, in consecutive order. Did I get them all or were there more than 25?




























Saturday afternoon I hosted an unofficial Canadian Music Week day party at 159 Manning with the help of Musi Artist Development and Last Frame Pictures. She Does the City wrote about it! Heartstrings.TV produced this video of the Darcy’s playing their song “Peg” in my library!

Live at 159 Manning – The Darcys – Peg from HeartstringsTV on Vimeo.

Saturday evening I played piano in the conversation room in between bands at Fucked Up’s Long Winter Vol 5 at the Great Hall. I was very happy and excited about being included in the night. These 2 b&w photos of me by Colin Medley. Check out his tumblr.

The highlight for me was definitely when Dana Wright got on top of the piano and danced while I played Unchained Melody, and Laura Hermiston joining me to sing the last 2 choruses.


Dana and I met 3 or 4 years ago and every time I’m around her SOMETHING happens! It usually involves music, photography and removal of clothing, but even if it doesn’t involve any of those things, it’s all about 1 thing: HAVING FUNNNN!!

There’s Something About Dana. I ❤ Dana because she's one of the hottest girls + her band is sooooo heavy + she has always projected good vibes towards me, every time we meet. That girl does what she wants to do, so don't bother trying to stop her! YOU GO GIRL!!


Magic!

One Response to “Fashion Week + CMW + FULW v5 = Part 1”

  1. Now That The Sun Is Shining Again | Timothy Alexander McCready Says:

    […] Frederick Squire Sings Shenandoah and Other Popular Hits. It’s a great record. Photos of me playing piano at the Great Hall back in March by Colin Medley. I decided to treat myself and picked up 2 new drills at Home Depot […]

Leave a Reply

