The Most Loyal + 2 Choirs_1 BBQ!


I’ve confirmed a new band for the 159 Manning BBQ lineup, featuring a couple of friends I’ve met through Shape Note Singing at Bloor Street United, Sarah Davignon and Andrew Patten ( gf+bf who both happen to be professional piano tuners ). They’re a 7 piece band called the Most Loyal and they’ll be performing on the backyard stage at the 5th Annual 159 Manning BBQ @ 6:45pm. I took this picture of them with my phone at the Horseshoe last month.

Watch this video for their song Shrinking Violet.

I think the plan is for Choir! Choir! Choir! to sing 4 or 5 songs at 6pm. This past Tuesday was Smiths night, and we sang Bigmouth Strikes Again, one of my all time favorite songs, There Is A Light That Never Goes Out! It’s strange how happy and free I felt singing “And if a double-decker bus crashes into us, to die by your side, is such a heavenly way to dieeeeee…and if a 10-ton truck, kills the both of ussss….”

Most Loyal will play at 6:45pm, and DJ OMGBLOG.COM (who happens to be a Shape Note Singing WIZARD) is doing a set in the backyard at 8pm , so I think I’m going to try and squeeze in a few songs from the Sacred Harp in at 7:30pm, either in the backyard or living room. As long as I can wrangle at least another 8 or 10 Shape Note Singers we should be able to pull it off, especially if we know which 5 songs we’re singing in advance. We’d deinitely do #159 Wondrous Love, and Idumea. I guess we should sing in the living room as a throwback to the old days:
I recorded the group at Bloor Street United singing Idumea at our singing earlier this month. Side note; Frank sets the beginning notes in both the video above and the audio below. The audio below is what the song is supposed to sound like.

I like the idea of having 2 different choirs singing at my BBQ.

Joseph and the Mercurials will play the backyard stage at 3:30pm, Biblical at 5:30pm. Young Mother in the living room stage at 6:15pm. Greys will play the basement stage at 8pm. Buck 65 from 9pm to 10pm in the backyard! Other set times will be announced soon.

Leave a Reply

