159 Manning BBQ 2013 Follow Up


Here’s a few of the pictures from last weeks 159 Manning BBQ. Photos were either taken by me, or borrowed from Thomas Evers or Joe Strutt via facebook. Even with all the photos I’ve gathered I don’t have any of the food by Nick Chen-Yin, Alex Tran and Paul Keodprom, or any documentation of the Confessional Love Booth put together by Arianne Robinson and the cast of STOP KISS. I may edit those into this post later if I come across them.

Beau’s All Natural Brewing Company provided us with some very reasonably priced refreshments.

Breeze played the first set of the day in the living room to a full house!



Joel French held down the backyard DJ booth during the opening hours of the BBQ.

Lost Babies played 2nd.


Joseph and the Mercurials


Biblical



Choir!Choir!Choir!

Fill Spectre in the basement cave stage.

Young Mother

DJ Giles Farnaby

Tai, 1/2 of TAIZA!

DJ OMGBLOG.COM

The Most Loyal



We had a Sacred Harp singing in the living room which had a very powerful effect on Mechanical Forest Sound’s Joe Strutt. I guess that means we did it right?

Here’s a recording I captured last month of the Shape Note singing group which meets on the 3rd Wednesday of every month at Bloor Street United Church. All are welcome.



Greys


Rich did an hour-long Buck 65 set in the backyard for the 3rd year in a row, closing out the backyard stage for the evening! I could tell he was having fun up there, and the crowd was obviously feeling it, thus again proving that Buck 65 + 159 Manning is always a good combination.

After Buck 65, my father and I sang a few songs together in the living room. We were only planning to sing 2 or 3 songs, but then the living room and dining room filled up and people were singing along so we did a full set of 9 or 10 songs.


Thanks again to everyone who came, played, worked, cooked, sang etc on Friday! It was a magical afternoon and evening. I spend 2 weeks leading up to each of these parties (the BBQ and NYE) asking myself why I put myself through this and tell myself I’m never going to do it again…but then it happens and everyone’s reactions and appreciation, the performances, the amount of work other people lend towards to cause in the days leading up the BBQ, and then just being there in the moment in the middle of it; it reminds me. For every musical act that participated, I had at least 2 or 3 people come up to me and say some variation of “WOW, __________ were amazing!” Seriously, thank you to everyone who was a part of it, especially to my dad Ray McCready.

I was exhausted and moderately drunk by the end of the day, so was glad to have it over but so glad it happened. I guess that means I’ll have to do another one next year!


See you on NYE!

3 Responses to “159 Manning BBQ 2013 Follow Up”

  1. BBQ, Indie Rock & a Toronto Shape Note singing Says:

    […] of our singers, Timothy McCready hosts an annual giant BBQ and all-day music-fest at his house (June 14). This year he invited our group to make a house call […]

  2. Tired Of Being Alive | Timothy Alexander McCready Says:

    […] (it was 3am so technically the 15th though the show started on the 14th), the same day at the 159 Manning BBQ. I think we sounded pretty […]

  3. 2012-13 in Review | Timothy Alexander McCready Says:

    […] a did of Tess Parks & Good People playing their hit single Someday. In June I threw the 5th Annual 159 Manning BBQ, which was a huge success. For the most part I kept up with Shape Note Singing at Bloor […]

Leave a Reply

