Catch Up If You Can


I had a lot of fun DJing with Laura Dal Fara at Parts & Labour last night. I’m spending this afternoon editing photos, mixing recordings from the past month at P&L, playing piano, and catching up on emails. Here’s a recording of Grey’s opening their set at Parts & Labour on May 18th with their song Pill. You can check out the original studio recording of the song here. BTW, there is a talk of my dad and I doing another show again soon with Greys as our backing band.

After 2 weeks, I’ve finally recovered from NXNE. After the 159 Manning BBQ on June 14th, Fill Spectre played at the Silver Dollar @ 3am that night.

There weren’t a lot of people there, but I could tell by the looks on their faces from the front of the stage that those were who there were into it.

Saturday morning I got up at 9am brought a PA system down to York and Queen’s Quay to do sound for 3rd year in a row at the 3rd Annual M for Montreal NXNE Bruise Cruise.

There’s been some talk of having M for Montreal involved in next years 159 Manning BBQ, which I’m open to since they’ve consistently curated great bands for the boat cruise and it’s always a pleasure to work with them. the following 2 photos by David Andrako


That night I DJed at a really fun private birthday party at an amazing house on Shaw. I went all out and brought turntables, 4x 1000w speakers, smoke machines and my Galaxian mini-laser, but went a little too wild near the beginning and set off all the smoke detectors in the house. Ooops!

Sunday I cleaned up around the house, returned some PA gear back to Moog Audio, and then did sound for Mustache Rides NXNE Showcase at Crawford. It was a “SHOW-TO-BE-AT”! Fill Spectre played, and we were unanimously listed as the “BAND-TO-SEE” by NOW Magazine’s Music Critics!


There was a punk show at P&L the next night, Tuesday I went to Choir!Choir!Choir! at No One Writes To The Colonel where we sang Pagliaro’s Lovin You Ain’t Easy. Word on the street is that Strombo is using Nobu’s recording from that night as the opening track on his CBC radio show tonight!
Wednesday I went to Shape Note Singing at Bloor Street United followed by doing sound for a DJ set by Sound Remedy at P&L. Thursday I did sound for Tyvek and Pins & Needles at P&L, Friday June 21st I went to Loving In the Name of at the Great Hall to take pictures of the crowd and shoot videos of the band. The End of The Road was definitely the show stopper that night! Lately I’ve enjoyed saying and writing that things are “magical”, and this performance qualified as magical. It’s hard to beat an ensemble cast.

I purchased a Rode Videomic earlier that day, hoping it would improve the sound but didn’t think to lower my 5D’s internal volume so the video still sounds a little blown out. I’ll have fixed and ready for next time!

So much technology at my fingertips, an infinite number of ideas; limited by the finite about of time, experience, expertise, $$$, brain space and sanity available to me…

Leave a Reply

