Mattyfest Summer 2013


Sunday afternoon and evening, Parts & Labour played host to the 3rd Annual Mattyfest, featuring a selection of some of the best Toronto musicians and bands, hand-picked by P&L’s very own Matty Matheson!

When I arrived at P&L on Sunday at 2pm to set up the stage we’d rented and bring the PA upstairs, one of the cooks asked me which of the bands I was most excited to see and I said “All of them. There’s not necessarily any high-lights because they’re all such great bands.” True musicians and music lovers, one and all. Certain things about hype and fame are cool, I’m totally interested in the mechanics of that stuff from a media theorist perspective, but what earns my respect is musicians who love music. I don’t care if they make a living from it or not, it’s the ones who have always played and are gonna play til they die.

First up was Grey Kingdom.

Milk Lines were next, this picture of them sort of looks like it’s 3D.

I recorded the full sets by all the bands, if I feel ambitious this week I may make a Mattyfest comp. If you’ll listen to it, comment below, since that’ll help motivate me. I dunno if I really want to mix sets by 7 different bands, listen through to pick the best track from each set, arrange them in a decent running order if I’m the only person who’s going to listen to it. But then, nobody giving a fuck has never stopped me from doing anything I wanted to do in the past….

Teenanger played 3rd.

A little known trivia fact about Teenanger is they got that name from me. I’d been holding onto it since 1997 when it was passed onto me from Shawn Duguay (ex-Hacken Kruetz) when I was playing drums for him in Moral Outrage because he was 28 at the time and felt like he was too old to ever use it. I held onto that name for almost 10 years because I didn’t play in or start any new bands (other than 5 years on drums in the Walkerville Baptist Church Praise and Worship Team), so when Quebexico broke up and they were starting a new band I told Chris “you gotta use Teenanger, it’s the best name!” and they did. So there you go, that was my contribution. I’m glad it went to good use.

Ben adding the special sauce.

Check out my little sound guy area I sectioned off. I really do prefer working at shows rather that just going to hang out, whether I’m in one of the bands that’s playing, doing sound, taking photos. Even at Choir!Choir!Choir! I shoot the videos every week. It gives me a reason to be there, and then I don’t have to justify anything if I don’t feel like talking to anyone all night. “Leave me alone, I’m just the sound guy/photographer/video guy!”

One of the best things about working at P&L is the food. LOOK AT THAT! I like that it’s punk rock music (at least in spirit, even when it’s not actually punk rock), but it’s not punk-rock food. Of my many skills and obsessions in life, I can’t cook for shit. I don’t know why I’m retarded that way, but I am, so I eat every single time I’m at P&L and I LOVE IT.

Molly will ALVVAYS be a member of the Rankin Family, even when she’s not playing with them.


Marine Dreams were having a grand ol time on stage.

The man, the legend, and the reason there’s a punk rock venue in the basement of a fine dining restaurant: Matty Matheson.


Chantel got an ice cube down her shirt.

RICHARD, HAPPY BIRTHDAY WEEKEND!! Pleassse let me keep the piano in the Shop! Pesci is a great booker and all. I generally agree with his taste in bands, which is a big part of what makes working at P&L such a pleasant experience for me; because I enjoy the music he books BUT he’s also famous for owning a nice condo with NO FURNITURE IN IT, so I have a hard time taking it seriously when he talks about a piano being, I quote “unnecessary to the aesthetics of the room”. Let’s have a competition, whose place is better decorated; Mark Pesci’s condo or 159 Manning?

Everyone who’s reading this, please message Mark Pesci on Facebook and tell him how excited you are about the presence of a piano in the Shop now! Otherwise they’re going to make me bring it to the dump.

Ewan Exall seems to agree a piano is “definitely awesome to have” and I’m willing to take responsibility and even pay out of my own pocket to have the piano tuned and maintained. THAT’S how bad I want to keep this piano in the Shop.

Everyone did shut-the-fuck-up and listened when Jennifer Castle played, as they should.

Comet Control played last, they ruled, THE END.

One Response to “Mattyfest Summer 2013”

  1. Chris Says:

    Thanks again for the band name, Tim!

    Best!

    Chris

Leave a Reply

