How Soon Is Now?


The next couple of weeks are going to be busy. On Wednesday, March 26th I’ll be DJing at the Bloor Hot Docs Cinema before this brand new Goldfrapp Documentary that’s showing for 1-night-only!! The flyer below is a little confusing because it says there’s a performance after the movie, but it will be a screening of a live Goldfrapp performance from March 4th 2014 after the movie. Alison will be performing in Birmingham UK that night, so she will not be in attendance here in Toronto. I am the only live-in-person “performance”, from 8:45 when doors open until 9:30pm when the film starts. Maybe I should go all out and dress up like Ms. Goldfrapp and do a drag-show tribute to her? Probably not. I’ve only tried walking in heels once in my life for about 5 seconds and it did not go well.

At any rate, I’m honored that I’ve been asked to play some tunes when doors open, and I’m looking forward to seeing the doc. I might even wear my suit. I did some research about the lady in question after I was asked to play, and she’s led a pretty interesting life!

I’ve got a bunch of band practices this week because I’m performing a set of Misfits, Smiths and Minor Threat covers with Meh…Good Enough 182 1979 on Sunday March 30th. I scanned a bunch of photos of me from between 1995 and 1996 to demonstrate how excited 18-year-old me would’ve been about this. If you aren’t familiar with any of those bands I imagine these pictures won’t mean much to you other than shocking you with what I looked like 20 years ago before I grew my beard and my eyes glazed over into a dead-stare.

Here I am with some girl I dated in high-school, wearing a Morrissey t-shirt which features the cover photo from the cd single for We Hate It When Our Friends Become Successful. I picked up those fancy yellow patent leather boots at the Doc Martens store in London UK during the summer of ’96. They were on the discount table for some reason. The leopard print was even fuzzy.

Twin-heads.

Hanging out in my parents van with Ian. I don’t remember where we were going, but I’m pretty sure the van was sitting in my parents driveway at that moment.

This one was taken in early-August 1996, a few hours before flying back to Canada from London after 5 weeks of doing humiliating dance and lip-sync routines to Steven Curtis Chapman songs in the streets of Brixton. Ahh the mem’ries! Though, I don’t look too traumatized there… STILL BRAINWASHED 🙂

Playing drums with Moral Outrage at the Belle River community center October 16th 1998, 3 days before my 20th birthday. I still play that same drum set with Soft Hell.

This picture was taken from a shoot in March 1996 for my highschool band Wonkavision’s tape Kill Pop Music. I would like to point out that I did not smoke any of that joint that Brandon was lighting because I was still “straight-edge” at that time. I didn’t start smoking weed until I moved to Toronto 10 years later.

LOOK!! Even back then I was doing Minor Threat covers! We also played Hybrid Moments and She by the Misfits as part of our live sets, but those didn’t end up on the tape.

I think I dressed up as a skeleton for Halloween every year from 1995 to 2000 when the costume finally ripped and fell apart.

Here’s Fraser, Jesse and I last week taking a devilocked selfie. All these years later Legacy of Brutality and Earth AD still do it for me. I give those albums both a perfect 10/10 rating.

The following Thursday, April 3rd I’ll be playing Izakaya Sushi House with Soft Hell. Come check us out if you’re out and about that night. We jam all the time, but we don’t play shows very often. We’ll be playing with 2 bands from Sudbury called Geyser, and Coast Redwood + another band from Toronto called Scotch Mist.

Check out Quicksand’s version of the Smiths – How Soon Is Now? I really like it, but it’s the sort of musical interpretation I can imagine a lot of Smiths fans hating. Good Enough’s versions of the Smiths songs attempt to be quite a bit more faithful to the originals.

Leave a Reply

