159 Manning Presents: Yardlets & friends


I’m throwing 1 more party this summer at 159 Manning. Likely my last jam until NYE. This will be sort of like the party I threw in May with Kapuano Records, with the backyard open, but all bands will be playing in the living room, NOT a giant 3-stage circus like M for 159 Manning. I don’t think my neighbors will let me get away with having bands in the backyard again so soon after the NXNE weekend.

Like the party in May, I’m keeping with the theme of 2 Montreal acts, 2 Toronto bands + me opening the party with a piano sing-along. I’ll be doing something similar to what I did in the video below, but keep in mind that was shot 2.5 years ago and I’ve come a lonnnnnnnng way in my playing since then, and I’ll make sure to choose songs that suit yelling along like Don’t Stop Believin’, The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down, and November Rain. If I get my shit together in time I may even provide lyric sheets. It’ll be kind of like Good Enough LIVE KARAOKE except I want everyone to sing rather than solo singers, which means it’ll be kind of like Choir!Choir!Choir! except I don’t expect anyone to sing harmonies, just shout-along.

The headlining Montreal act is Yardlets, featuring Sam Goldberg Jr who may be the last current member of Broken Social Scene to hasn’t already performed at 159 Manning before? Let’s see, Justin Peroff DJed NYE last year, Brendan Canning has DJed my NXNE BBQ’s once or twice, and KC Accidental played the BBQ last year featuring Kevin Drew and Charles Spearin…so does that mean I can lie and tell people BSS has played my backyard? Like when people ask “Hey Tim, Sloan played at your house didn’t they?” and well no, I’ve done a photoshoot here at 159 Manning with them which resulted in the album cover for their most recent Record Store Day 12″ Ep, and Chris Murphy played drums for Little Orton Hoggit and His 10 Cent Wings here a few years ago, and then sang Minor Threat’s first 2 7″s from start to finish with my band Good Enough LIVE KARAOKE in my basement, and everyone else except for Andrew (Jay, Patrick and Gregory) has attended one of my BBQ’s, so I just say “YES. Yes, Sloan did play in my backyard and it was great”. But I ONLY say that when people suggest that it happened first. It’s more succinct than saying no.

I digress; Yardlets are playing, and Sam suggested another MTL resident to perform named Paul Jacobs. I don’t know much about Paul, except 1. he’s a one-man-band, 2. that I briefly met him at Parts & Labour a few years ago and he insisted on giving me this sticker he drew which is now on the cover of one of my notebooks, and 3. he’s originally from Windsor ON, which is also my hometown.

The 2 Toronto acts are the good-ol’ 159 Manning standbys Fill Spectre and Wave of Terror. Jesse Bellon (also a Windsor native) will be playing guitar in both bands. Fill Spectre photos below by Del Cowsill.

I’ll be playing bass in Fill Spectre, and keys in Wave of Terror. I’m playing 3 sets that night!

Wave of Terror photo shot on NYE by Jett Black. W.O.T. drummer Ian Sattler designed the show poster at the top of this post.

Leave a Reply

